2017年度报告

在我们继续期待市场需求并推动新一代技术的同时,了解康普最近的更新、深度见解和优先事项。

下载报告  
 
 
康普回顾

CEO的展望

阅读更多  

我们的深远影响

尝试我们的互动功能,演示康普如何优化带宽,将更多的人们与信息和彼此连接在一起。

 

康普概览

了解我们核心业务领域的概况

了解更多  
高管常见问题

来自康普领导层的深度见解和信息

康普长时间以来一直在为5G的到来进行准备,我们对向这类网络过渡所涉及的复杂性和挑战有着深刻的理解。一直以来,我们在帮助客户采用无线网络领域的技术进步方面有着良好的记录。事实上,我们每年将近20000万美元的研发预算中,很大一部分用于开发新的解决方案,以提高5G基础设施中的网络速度和效率以及改善网络响应时间。

我们的看法是,5G将会是一个“网络的网络” - 固定和移动网络的融合,并具有深度光纤部署,支持各种5G用例。由于进化至今的4G网络将成为5G的基石,运营商需要继续将无线网络接入更贴近用户,即致密化。致密化需要我们擅长的解决方案,包括都市蜂窝基站、小型蜂窝基站、光纤和回程能力。康普是无线网络和光纤这两个领域的全球领先企业,这一强大的组合一直是并将继续成为重要的竞争优势。

我们的技术团队也是负责建立和支持5G的标准组织和倡导机构的参与者,确保我们熟悉客户将会面临的要求,处于开创解决方案满足其需求的优势地位。康普在世界上几乎所有的主要通信网络中都发挥了关键作用,我们有信心5G也会如此。我们的端到端解决方案产品组合包括客户构建高性能5G网络所需的关键组件。

随着越来越多的用户驱动型信息和商务通过网络流通,运营商正在迅速部署更大、更复杂的数据中心,以支持这一增长。我们相信多租户和超大规模数据中心是高增长市场。我们根据目标的轻重缓急调整力量,确保我们能充分利用这些机会。目前,我们正在开发创新解决方案和能力来满足这些市场需求。例如,我们新型的高速网络升级平台可帮助数据中心管理人员建立更快、更灵活、高密度的升级规划,从而加快其数字化转型计划的容量与速度增长。

为了应对第三方数据中心使用量的显著增长,我们创立了多租户数据中心(MTDC)联盟。MTDC联盟成员可以为那些需要在多租户环境中部署这一技术的客户提供最佳的网络基础设施解决方案。MTDC联盟深化了康普与合作伙伴的关系,通过康普值得信赖的合作伙伴和领先解决方案,帮助企业网络客户过渡到云计算。

此外,我们8月份完成的对Cable Exchange的收购可快速交付光纤和铜缆组件,改善了我们有效地满足加速增长的客户需求的能力。这项高度互补的收购,加强了我们支持由全球最大的技术和零售公司运营的高容量、多租户和超大型数据中心这一日益增长的市场的能力,让我们能够增强数据中心市场的服务。

我们仍将致力于开发创新解决方案,满足市场需求,并确信Cable Exchange的快速转型能力以及我们的高速网络升级平台的扩展将让我们在2018年里在多租户、超大规模和云数据中心市场实现增长。

目前的光纤市场有多个推动因素,无论是在数据中心还是在支持固定或移动网络的接入层。集中式部署的数据中心现在正在从核心向边缘转移,以支持更快的网络响应时间,减少网络拥堵。随着对高速连接和成本效益的需求更加迫切,固定和移动网络正在融汇之中。我们相信,开发面向家庭、企业和无线网络接入点分布的统一网络,将成为许多运营商的优先考虑事项。

这一网络融汇,是我们2015年8月份收购BNS的出发点,它使我们能够为客户提供全球范围的领先无线网络和光纤解决方案产品组合。预期会有不断增长的需求,我们与OFS签署了一份长达8年的供货协议,以确保我们的光纤供应。因此,无论我们的客户以何种方式向消费者提供千兆级速度,我们都有最佳的解决方案。

除了室外固定和移动网络对光纤日益增长的需求之外,我们对数据中心内部光纤应用的机遇感到兴奋。随着带宽需求的不断增长,数据中心管理人员必须从管理更高的速度和密度两方面来设计基础设施。

为满足这些方面的需求,让康普充分利用未来这一基础设施的转型,我们继续创新、进行战略投资,并创建一系列解决方案。我们开发了高速网络升级平台,帮助数据中心管理人员加快数据中心容量增长以及数字化转型举措的速度,这在业内是独一无二的。此外,通过收购Cable Exchange,我们大大提高了快速交付的能力。我们相信,Cable Exchange的加入和高速网络升级平台的扩展,将在2018年里让我们在超大规模和多租户数据中心的增长中处于有利地位。

光纤将成为未来网络的基础,我们对康普能够为此提供支持感到兴奋。

展望将来,我们期待会有更加规律性的订单模式,并正在准备利用全球范围内众多的开发项目,确保我们在2018年恢复增长。由于我们所服务市场的性质,大规模项目开支的时间对我们的运营结果有较大影响。2018年预期的关键性无线网络项目之一是FirstNet部署,这是一个专门用于美国公共安全的网络。这一跨越多个年度的网络建设项目是我们移动解决方案部门的增长动力,也是我们相信自己处于有利地位的一个项目。我们也将会注意家庭、企业和蜂窝基站内深层光纤部署的进度和强度。北美以外,虽然我们在部分地区看到一些积极的趋势,但对大多数的国际市场仍持谨慎态度。

我们客户的并购和对投入时间的可能影响仍然是一个关键的变数。我们正在关注中的其它方面包括我们的客户对于废除网络中立性的反应,这有可能促进网络投资的增长以及向5G的过渡,这对我们的移动解决方案和连接解决方案部门都是推动需求的因素。

美国的税制改革是我们密切关注的另一个方面。根据最近颁布的美国税收改革立法,康普预计将受益于较低的修正实际税率。除了我们的税率优惠之外,我们的一些客户已经宣布,由于税制改革的通过,他们有意增加资本支出。

我们所处的市场正在变化,而且变化的速度高于以往任何时候。我们的许多客户都面临着取得更高效业绩的巨大压力,并面对越来越多的竞争。确保我们处于这一转变的关键环节,是我们成为客户、供应商、分销商、渠道合作伙伴甚至技术合作伙伴的首选合作伙伴目标的一部分。

随着我们看到移动、云、物联网、虚拟增强现实和其它因素的扩展,世界正变得更为连接,康普有机会在帮助我们的客户改造网络以支持连接生活方式方面起到更大作用。我们通过帮助他们解决问题来达到这一目标,比如以更少的投入、更短的时间建立更多的网络。康普在提供简单、精巧、高效的解决方案帮助客户快速建设、优化和运营网络方面做得越多,我们就越将成为更有价值的合作伙伴。

成为首选合作伙伴从内部开始,凭借我们的速度、灵活性和快速响应。我们专注于持续改进,知道这终将有利于我们的客户和合作伙伴,让我们能够为股东展示良好表现并创造价值。

BNS收购显然加强了我们的能力和解决方案,特别是在通过增强光纤产品组合应对更多的有线和无线网络挑战方面。自交易完成以来,我们取得了显著的进展,基本完成了这一重大而复杂的整合工作。这包括我们在2017年成功完成了全球性的BNS团队并入康普业务系统,这是康普迄今为止规模最大、最复杂的项目。

虽然我们比以往任何时候都更加关注客户,但我们仍在继续内部的努力,改善我们的速度和反应时间。改善速度将在很多方面有利于公司及其客户,从订单到发货、从概念到设计、从决策制订到响应时间、从信息收集到交流。我们还专注于消除业务中各个转折环节的复杂性,去除那些妨碍员工创新并为客户提供出色服务和解决方案的障碍与不必要的流程。

正如我们在2017年里对Cable Exchange所做的那样,我们将继续观察其它的收购可能性,以充分利用我们优秀平台,进一步提高帮助客户实现下一步目标的能力。

除了执行我们的战略之外,我们还将通过战略性地重新投资于业务、偿还债务和向股东返还资金,保持对资本配置的严格要求。我们仍然致力于为股东创造价值,并相信我们世界水平的差异化解决方案和服务平台将让我们能够在2018年及以后的长时间内做到这一点。

数字说话

实现最大发展

 
报告

下载报告

访问完整报告,了解我们的财务业绩、行政管理常见问题、创新和公司新闻

立即下载

保持连接

登记接收范围广泛的康普内容和更新。

登记

2017 Annual Report

Review the latest updates, insights and priorities for CommScope as we continue to anticipate market needs and advance what's next.

Download Report  

CEO Perspective

Read More  

Our Far-Reaching Impact

Explore our interactive feature demonstrating how CommScope optimzes bandwidth and connects more people to information and one another.


CommScope At-A-Glance

Get an overview of our core business segments

Learn More  

Insights and Information from CommScope Leaders

CommScope has long been preparing for the coming of 5G, and we have a strong understanding of the complexity and challenges involved in the transition toward these networks. We have a strong track record of helping customers through every previous technology evolution in wireless; in fact, a significant part of our nearly $200 million annual R&D budget is used to develop new solutions to increase network speed and efficiency and to improve network response time in 5G infrastructures.

Our view is that 5G will be a “network of networks”—a convergence of fixed and mobile with deep fiber penetration to support the variety of 5G use cases. Because today’s evolved 4G network will be a cornerstone for 5G, operators need to continue to bring wireless access closer to their customers, known as densification. Densification requires solutions we specialize in, including metrocells, small cells, fiber, and backhaul capability. CommScope is a global leader in both wireless and fiber, a powerful combination that has been and will continue to be a significant competitive advantage.

Our technology teams are also participants in the standards bodies and advocacy groups responsible for creating and supporting 5G, ensuring we are well-versed in the requirements our customers will face and positioning us to create solutions that meet their needs. CommScope has played a key role in virtually all the world’s premier communication networks, and we are confident that 5G will be no different. Our portfolio of end-to-end solutions includes key components our customers need to build high-performing 5G networks.

As more user-driven information and commerce flows through networks, operators are quickly deploying larger and more complex data centers to support that growth. We believe that multitenant and hyperscale data centers are high-growth markets. We have prioritized our effort to ensure that we are well positioned to take advantage of these opportunities. We are currently developing innovative solutions and capabilities to address these market needs; for example, our new High Speed Migration Platform helps data center managers build faster, more agile, high-density migration plans, allowing them to accelerate the growth of their capacity and speed of their digital transformation initiatives.

To address the significant increase in usage of third-party data centers, we formed the Multi Tenant Data Center (MTDC) Alliance. The MTDC Alliance members can offer optimal network infrastructure solutions for customers who need to deploy this technology in multitenant environments. The MTDC Alliance deepens CommScope’s relationships with our partners and helps enterprise customers transition to cloud computing with CommScope’s trusted partners and leading solutions.

Moreover, our acquisition of Cable Exchange, which we completed in August, provides the fast delivery of fiber optic and copper assemblies, improving our ability to efficiently meet the increased pace of customer requests. This highly complementary acquisition deepens our capabilities in supporting the growing market for high-capacity, multitenant and hyperscale data centers operated by the world’s largest technology and retail companies, allowing us to enhance our service to the data center market.

We remain committed to developing innovative solutions to meet the needs of the market and are confident Cable Exchange’s quick-turn capabilities and the expansion of our High Speed Migration Platform will position us to grow in the multitenant, hyperscale and cloud data center markets in 2018.

There are multiple growth drivers in fiber markets today, whether they be in the data center or in the access layer supporting fixed or mobile networks. Data centers that were deployed centrally are now migrating out of the core and toward the edge to support faster network response time and reduce network congestion. Fixed and mobile networks are converging as the need for high-speed connectivity and cost efficiency become even more pressing. We believe that the development of a unified network for homes, businesses, and wireless locations will be a high priority for many operators.

This network convergence was the thesis around our BNS acquisition in August 2015, which enables us to serve our customers with a global portfolio of leading wireless and fiber solutions. In anticipation of growing demand, we have entered into an eight-year supply commitment with OFS to help ensure our optical fiber supply. So, no matter how our customers deliver gigabit speed to consumers, we have an optimal solution.

In addition to the growing demand for fiber in outdoor fixed and mobile networks, we are excited about the opportunities for fiber in data centers. With the rising demand for bandwidth, data center managers must design their infrastructure to manage both higher speeds and increased density.

To address these needs and position CommScope to take advantage of the future transformation of this infrastructure, we continue to innovate, make strategic investments, and build a portfolio of solutions. We developed our High Speed Migration Platform to help data center managers accelerate the growth of their data center capacity and the speed of their digital transformation initiatives, which is unique in the industry. In addition, we greatly improved our quick-turn delivery capabilities with the acquisition of Cable Exchange. We believe that the addition of Cable Exchange and the expansion of our high speed data center platform will position us for hyperscale and multitenant data center growth in 2018.

Fiber will be the foundation of networks in the future, and we’re excited about CommScope’s ability to support this.

Looking ahead, we are expecting more normalized order patterns and are preparing to capitalize on numerous global developments to ensure we return to growth in 2018. Due to the nature of the markets we serve, the timing of large-project spending is impactful to our results. One of the key wireless projects expected for 2018 is the FirstNet deployment, which is a network dedicated to US public safety. This multiyear network build is a growth driver for our Mobility Solutions segment, and one for which we believe we are well-positioned. We also will be looking at the pace and intensity of deep-fiber builds to homes, businesses, and cell sites. Beyond North America, although we have seen positive trends in some regions, we remain cautious on most international markets.

M&A by our customers and the impact that may have on the timing of spending remains a key variable. Other items we are keeping an eye on include our customers’ reactions to the repeal of net neutrality, which could spur increased network investment, and the transition toward 5G, which is a demand driver in both our Mobility Solutions and Connectivity Solutions segments.

US tax reform is another issue on which we have kept a close eye. Under the recently enacted US tax reform legislation, CommScope expects to benefit with a lower adjusted effective tax rate. In addition to our beneficial tax rates, some of our customers have announced their intent to increase CapEx spending due to the passage of tax reform.

Our markets are changing, and this change is happening faster than ever. Many of our customers are under tremendous pressure to perform more efficiently and are facing increasing sources of competition. Ensuring that we are a critical part of this transformation is part of our goal to be the preferred partner to our customers, our suppliers, our distributors, our channel partners, and even our technology partners.

As we see the proliferation of mobility, cloud, the internet of things, virtual augmentation, and other factors, the world is becoming more connected and CommScope has an opportunity to become a bigger force in helping our customers transform their networks to support a connected lifestyle. We are doing this by helping them solve problems, such as building more network for less money and doing it much faster. The more CommScope can provide simple, elegant, efficient solutions that help our customers to quickly build, optimize, and operate their networks, the more valuable of a partner we will be.

Being a preferred partner starts internally, with our speed, flexibility and responsiveness. We are focused on continued improvement there, knowing it ultimately benefits our customers and partners, enabling us to perform and create value for shareholders.

The BNS acquisition clearly strengthened our capabilities and solutions, particularly in addressing more wired and wireless network challenges with an enhanced fiber portfolio. Since the completion of that transaction, we have made significant progress and have essentially completed this substantial and complex integration effort. This includes our 2017 success in completing the transition of the global BNS team onto CommScope’s business systems, the largest scale and most complex project CommScope has ever undertaken.

While our primary focus, more than ever, is on our customers, we are continuing our internal efforts to improve our speed and responsiveness. Improving velocity will benefit the company and its customers in many ways, from order to shipment, from concept to design, from decision making to response time, from information gathering to communication. We’re also focused on eliminating complexity in our business at every turn in order to remove obstacles and unneeded processes that can hinder our employees as they innovate and deliver great service and solutions to customers.

As we did with Cable Exchange in 2017, we will continue to look at other acquisition possibilities in order to leverage our great platform and build upon our capabilities in helping customers with what’s next.

In addition to executing on our strategy, we will maintain a disciplined approach to capital allocation through strategically reinvesting in the business, paying down debt and returning capital to shareholders. We remain committed to delivering value to shareholders, and believe that our platform of world-class differentiated solutions and services positions us to do so in 2018 and beyond.


Pushing What's Possible


Download the Report

Access the full report and read about our financial performance, executive Q&A, innovations and company news

Download Now

Stay Connected

Sign up to receive a range of CommScope content and updates.

Sign Up