田纳西大学

让田纳西大学校园的网速赶上时代步伐

田纳西大学(UT)经常寻找方式更新它的网络力量提供职员和学生最快速和最安全的无线经验可能。为了实现这一目标,田纳西大学斥资 12 亿美元实施改造和扩建项目,并委托康普在其校园内部署更多的室外无线网络接入点和安防摄像头。

该大学的 IT 部门决定在与 CommScope 正式建立合作关系,委托其为教职员工和学生打造互联校园之前,试用 CommScope 的供电光缆系统。供电光缆系统由混合铜缆/光缆和以太网供电 (PoE) 延伸器组成。CommScope系统也来与缆绳或纤维管理、力量Transmission管理、安全和超载保护和普遍电源。构建的整个系统能够抵御室外环境的气候影响。

试航展示了快速地,更加可靠的WiFi通入与强有力的安全保障好处和竞争的价格形成,但CommScope仍然有一个多障碍对明白。大学的美化委员会在项目必须停止活动。CommScope能显示怎么它的PoE增量剂在分离托架或整洁地被卷起的去里面路灯柱可能登上。连接的缆绳能跑在岗位里面到WiFi访问接入点和安全监控相机。在看见以后怎么供给动力的纤维电缆系统可能混和入它的周围和留下大学的原始校园的一个不间断的看法,委员会给了认同它的邮票。

公司概略

 

  • 田纳西大学诺克斯维尔分校创建于 1794 年,其历史比田纳西州还要久远。
  • 大学成长为结束28,000学生并且安置国家的第五大体育场与位子为结束100,000 screaming风扇。
  • 田纳西大学拥有室内和室外 Wi-Fi 接入点,运营着三个数据中心,并在其 580 英亩校园内安装了长 220 英里的单模光缆和数百个安防摄像头。
挑战

 

  • 在广阔的大学校园内部署安全顺畅的室外无线网络面临一系列独特的挑战:
    • 获得打造高效网络所需的电力可能很困难且代价高昂。
    • 实施如此浩大的电力工程时,会面临安全问题。
    • 实现无线网络接入需要安装一大堆电缆和接线盒,这些都会影响美观性,对于田纳西大学这样美丽的校园来说尤其如此。
解决方案

 

  • 供电光缆系统
学会更多关于这个项目:

 下载充分的专题研究

如果您在这种情况下是感兴趣的研究,您可以也感兴趣:

发现更多专题研究可得到从case研究page或扫描case研究library

University of Tennessee

Bringing the University of Tennessee’s campus up to speed

University of Tennessee Case Study thumb

The University of Tennessee (UT) constantly looks for ways to update its networking power to provide staff and students the fastest and most secure wireless experience possible. As a part of a $1.2 billion renovation and expansion project in pursuit of that goal, UT turned to CommScope to deploy more outdoor wireless access points and security cameras throughout its campus.

The university’s IT department chose to test out the CommScope Powered Fiber Cable System before committing to a full partnership that would keep the university’s staff and students constantly connected. The Powered Fiber Cable System consists of hybrid copper/fiber cable and power over Ethernet (PoE) extenders. The CommScope system also comes with cable/fiber management, power transmission management, safety and overload protection and a universal power supply. The entire system is built to withstand the elements of an outdoor setting.

The trial run demonstrated faster, more reliable Wi-Fi access with strong security benefits and competitive pricing, but CommScope still had one more hurdle to clear. The university’s beautification committee had to sign off on the project. CommScope was able to show how its PoE extenders could be mounted on discrete brackets or neatly tucked away inside lampposts. Connecting cables could run inside the post to the Wi-Fi access points and security cameras. After seeing how the Powered Fiber Cable System could blend into its surroundings and leave an uninterrupted view of the university’s pristine campus, the committee gave its stamp of approval.

Company fast facts

 

  • Founded in 1794, the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, is older than its state.
  • The university has grown to over 27,000 students and houses the country’s fifth -largest stadium with seats for over 100,000 screaming fans.
  • UT has indoor and outdoor Wi-Fi access points, operates three data centers, and maintains 220 miles of singlemode fiber optic cable and hundreds of security cameras across its 580 acres.

 

Challenges

 

  • Deploying an outdoor wireless network with secure, seamless performance across a large university campus presents a unique set of challenges:
    • Gaining access to the necessary electrical power for an effective network can be difficult and expensive.
    • Safety is an issue when this much power is in play.
    • A jumble of cables and visible “big boxes” for wireless access would mar visual aesthetics, particularly at a campus as beautiful as UT.

 

Solutions

 

  • Powered Fiber Cable System

 

To learn more about this project:

View the case study

 

Find more case studies available from the case study page or scan the case study library.